What is the first 'to-do' while travelling alone by train?
Yes you got it right, check for fellow passengers around your seat. Since my bad luck has always been super sexy I don't even bother to check the reservation list these days; because I have always been surrounded by uncles and aunties. The only added advantage they give me is of taking my lower seat in exchange of their upper one. Great, can’t get better. The upper berth is secluded, away from any disturbance where I can sit and enjoy my silence.
23rd December 2014
I was to travel to Jaipur from Mumbai via Gareeb Rath express. Having come from Goa late that night, this was the only train available which leaves at noon and reaches Jaipur at 7 next morning. Also the route which it follows is new for me. It goes from Surat - Vadodara - Ahmedabad - Mt. Abu - Ajmer - Jaipur. I tried a lot to reach the station 10 minutes prior to the scheduled departure. But I couldn't. I remember I was somewhere near G10 when the train departed. Hurriedly I hopped on.
I knew my seat G3 36, "Side upper! Great." I said to myself. The seat beneath mine was along the window; where you could lie down with a pillow on back rest and enjoy the beautiful view if it was empty. I started walking towards my coach. Lastly I entered a fully packed coach. While passing along the aisle I couldn't resist noticing so many people in the compartment, reminded me of my school days how we used to go on vacations. Amidst all this somehow I managed to reach my berth. Seated below was a girl, shocked, I didn't stop and went straight out from the other end.
I knew my seat G3 36, "Side upper! Great." I said to myself. The seat beneath mine was along the window; where you could lie down with a pillow on back rest and enjoy the beautiful view if it was empty. I started walking towards my coach. Lastly I entered a fully packed coach. While passing along the aisle I couldn't resist noticing so many people in the compartment, reminded me of my school days how we used to go on vacations. Amidst all this somehow I managed to reach my berth. Seated below was a girl, shocked, I didn't stop and went straight out from the other end.
"Bhaiya, G3 hai na yeh?" I asked the attendant.
I knew I'm not that lucky.
Deep down I wanted him to say yes yes this is G3 only.
"Nahi bhai, G3 do coach choddke", he said.
I must have lost count. Feeling devastated I moved forward 1..2..3.. G3. I went straight to my berth slid my bag under it and sat down waiting for the TC so that after getting my ticket checked I can rest for some time. Sitting there waiting, gazing outside the window with my headphones plugged in I noticed a bag pack on the berth. Within a few minutes my co-passenger came.
Whoa! It was a girl. For a moment I started doubting my bad luck. FYI Gareeb Rath has 3 berths on the side and 6 inside. This made me believe that someone else would be around too. I was killing myself inside for not checking the reservation chart, at least that could have reduced my anxiety and I would have known her name. With no other option to go with, I sat there itself while she was sitting on the other end of the seat. Being the type of guy I was, I relied on my music for the whole journey.
After half an hour later upon blinking I noticed her palm right in front of my face trying to get my attention.
“Hey..umm.. Yours is the upper berth, right? Do you mind if I lie down for some time?” she requested.
Seriously speaking, it took me some time to come to senses. It was such a beautiful voice, and was going on repeat in my head.
I didn't want her to go,
I wanted her to stay.
I wanted to talk to her, throw away my shyness, and build up some confidence.
I wanted to tell her the pink sweater was suiting her and how cute her colorful socks were.
"Oh sure, no problem", I smiled back. I punched myself inside for being such a loser; must have slapped a hundred times too. She climbed up and the gentleman inside me helped her with her stuff.
“Where are you headed?” I somehow gathered the courage to ask her with a smile on my face.
"Jaipur", she smiled back.
Nothing interesting regarding her happened for the next 3 hours. Just that she was lying on the seat above. I was sitting down with my headphones plugged in. There was an extended family sitting in front of us. I tried passing some time, getting down at every station and having a stroll.
Watching the group in front have fun, I even noticed a few other guys trying to get a glimpse of her. Haha. I high-five'd my luck.
Jumping to 6pm
Vadodara had just passed; the extended family was still there with two of those sitting beside me. I was tired of sitting by now. I got up to freshen up and she came down.
Talking to myself, I thought, what the odd are… I still followed my mind. I won't be able to focus if I am not fresh. After coming back I had two options, either sit between her & the guy from the extended family or find some other place. I didn't want to go up. I found a place to rest my ass. And to pass some time started talking to a friend on my phone.
I told him about the cute girl who was sitting on my seat. He tried convincing me into talking to her, telling me not to be a gentleman, just ‘be a man'. And how convenient was it for him, sitting miles away and just saying stuff, asking me to do something that was no less than a herculean task.
I had lost hope and he knew his efforts are going in vain. So he requested me to read this on Quora:
First of all this answer was just perfect. This guy should be given a medal. Take a bow Mr. Miraz Zaidi, take a bow _/\_.
Having read this I questioned myself, "what does it take to be a jerk?"
I thought maybe I have a lot to lose, or May that's all just bullshit. I hardly know this girl, what on earth I will lose!?
Rubbish.
For the next hour I tried making eye contact. But no success, she had her eyes stuck to her phone.
The train slowed down, I looked out it was Ahmadabad. I got down thinking over the strategy I had been working on since some time.
Should I approach her or not.
Can I be a jerk or not!
What will she think if I approach her... A jerk or a despo?
What will she think of me if I don't approach her… A gentleman or a loser?
I was more disappointed after coming back. She was sitting there with her laptop on, probably watching House, I didn't observe closely. So a loser it is. I cursed myself again, she had been siting there alone with no one to talk to for quite some time and there I was, a loser, working on strategies.
Waah beta!
Tumse na ho paayega beta.
Since my laptop was not in a condition to be out in public, I messaged my friend, told him the situation. Cases like these being his forte, I could consider his advice.
After ignoring the first 10 messages (he had to abuse me, I deserved it),
"Be a jerk. Go and talk to her, bitch. You have nothing to lose and trust me you'll regret not talking in the morning when you'll part ways. Go you can do it", he shouted.
I was in dilemma; I knew what to say and what all to talk about. It was easy to be a jerk. I just didn't have the guts to go up to her. I needed a spark and with that I could have burnt the whole forest down.
But I kept it all to myself.
Loosing hope I climbed up to my berth quietly took out my headphones and got lost. It was 10pm when I woke up. She was still sitting down there, writing something. Looked like a letter, I didn't bother as I couldn't make out anything.
She had a nice handwriting though.
I again thought of gathering some courage, at this time most people are asleep, this can be a good chance of knowing more about her. Whom am I kidding, I dozed off. I had to wake up before 7.
I again thought of gathering some courage, at this time most people are asleep, this can be a good chance of knowing more about her. Whom am I kidding, I dozed off. I had to wake up before 7.
Morning 6am
I got down, freshened up. Packed my stuff sat down with my phone in my hand.
"You have this one hour to get over your shyness, get over your fears. Don't be an introvert. Talk to people. She is just a girl, she is not gonna eat you up. Go Mingle!", I whispered.
"So you too are headed to Jaipur?", she asked with a beautiful morning smile on her face.
And I was dumbstruck again. I was laughing in my head like an idiot. I thought what's wrong with this girl why is she making conversation with me!? Is she crazy!? Hahahaha. It was tough to control.
"Oh yes", I kept my calm not showing how happy I was.
Amazingly 10% of my job was done. She'd sparked me up. Now it was time to burn down the forest.
I asked her name.
We shook hands.
And we kept talking about all random things.
We entered Jaipur junction at 7.20am, before getting up I asked her for her number.
"Sure why not. Definitely", she said.
I reached home spent the whole day with family.
The next morning I texted her
*Hey
Merry Christmas. :)*
Two days have passed, she hasn't replied since as yet. And here I am writing this post hoping you all enjoyed reading about this loser's attempts.
Talking to a female stranger. Check!
Befriend them. Check!
"And remember, you better be a jerk and talk, because remember, you've got nothing to lose."
Oh wait. She just replied ☺
Wish me luck.
- tawanug

